top of page
poulsenkazoku

El poder de la fe

Hello everyone!  It has been another great, hot week out here in GTZ Mexico! To be honest, it wasn't much different than the other weeks I have had here, but we did find a lot of people who have shown a lot of interest in the gospel message and have expressed a desire to know more. It is always encouraging to me to witness people humble themselves to look for happiness that is contrary to the happiness that the world portrays.  I'm thankful that I am able to witness the change that the gospel can bring to people's lives!  

Her are my random things from the past week:

1. Okay, so we have an investigator named Fernanda and we haven't seen her for a couple of weeks because she has been super busy at work. One day we were in the town and we happened to run into her.  She had us over to her tortillaria and we talked to her for a little while.  After visiting with her, she asked to have another appointment with us.  That night, we had an appointment with another family and when we arrived at the appointment, this family was talking about how I was super famous in Gutierrez Zamora and how I was on everybody's facebook.  I was confused about what they were talking about, but then they showed me how my picture was all over Facebook.  I was really weirded out by this, but it turns out Fernanda has a secret crush on me and took like 2  pictures of me during our conversation earlier that day and posted them on Facebook, and I guess she has several followers.  She posted on her FB that she was in love with me and stuff haha. The header for her post was like La guapo Greengo, haha. So yeah, we might have to rethink our next appointment with Fernanda. 

2. I taught an English class here in Gutierrez Zamora and had several people show up.  It was pretty fun to meet a bunch of new people. 

3. I had rolled ice cream, which was so good!! While we were there, Post Malone was playing on the radio and I was LOVING it!! I miss music!

4. People think I look more "boring" when I wear long sleeved white shirts.  Not sure what that is supposed to mean. haha. 

5. Eskita is sooooo good. It's like the corn from Nacho Libre, but in a cup. 

So yeah, that was pretty much it this week. We taught a lot and spent a lot of time performing service and teaching lessons.  It has been good to spend time with people who are progressing in the gospel and seeing how keeping the commandments can bring happiness.  I am trying to take full advantage of this week, because we don't have much time left in this transfer and I'm afraid that my time with Elder Tapia is likely going to come to an end this weekend, which makes me really sad. 

So one thing that I decided to do the other day is to keep a list of a few of the most important things that I have learned, or come to appreciate, while on my mission.  I would like to share a couple of them here...

1. I have been so blessed in this life in so many ways! 2. I have learning Español!!  3. I love my family so much and I know that they love me!! 4. I need to believe more in me.  I know that God believes in me, but if I don't believe in my ability to achieve, no one else will. 5. Patience is a virtue. One of the most important things that we can learn during this life is to accept things in their appropriate time and season 6. I am far from perfect, but I'll never stop trying to be better 7. Actions speak WAY louder than words.   8. We have been given trials to grow and to learn more. They can either lead to our demise or help us be triumphant. 9. We have a loving Heavenly Father who wants to hear from us every single day. He wants to bless us and the world needs humble people willing to receive his blessings 10. Through our savior we can overcome ALL things 11. I need to slow down when I talk.  Sometimes my mind goes a lot faster than my mouth.  haha

So yeah Just a few of the many things I have learned during my short time here in Mexico!  This week I had the ability to listen to a lot of awesome talks, but one talk that hit me really hard was one about friendship

This is super good and is definitely worth your time to watch. A friend is someone who takes us for who we are, accept our weaknesses and helps us become a better version of ourselves. A friend is not someone who contributes to our demise. I am sooooooo incredibly grateful for the friends that I have been blessed with. They have been true friends to me and they have helped me grow in ways that I can't even begin to enumerate. I invite you all to listen to this talk and try to be more accepting to everybody around you and to become the unconditional friend that everyone wants/needs. 

I also have a couple of scriptures that really stood out to me this week in my Bible study.  One was in Ecclesiastes 4:9-12.  Go read it, that's all I'll say about that...

The other one that I do want to talk about today is a chapter in the book of Matthew. Chapter 14 to be exact. There is sooo much that can be learned from these 12 verses.

22 ¶ And straightway Jesus constrained his disciples to get into a ship, and to go before him unto the other side, while he sent the multitudes away.

23 And when he had sent the multitudes away, he went up into a mountain apart to pray: and when the evening came, he was there alone.

24 But the ship was now in the midst of the sea, tossed with waves: for the wind was contrary.

25 And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea.

26 And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear.

27 But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.

28 And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water.

29 And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.

30 But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.

31 And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

32 And when they were come into the ship, the wind ceased.

33 Then they that were in the ship came and worshipped him, saying, Of a truth thou art the Son of God.

Okay we are going to break this down a little bit. The first thing that I learned is that Jesus is willing to walk into the "storms" of our lives. Jesus saw the Apostles in this "storm" and went out to them, he met them where they were...he came to them in their time of need (or when they were likely afraid). I love this simple example because it is so true, christ is always willing to help us, especially during the storms of our lives, but only if we allow him to come to us, AND if we are willing to put forth an effort to lean on him (even if our faith isn't the strongest). One thing that I noticed is how much fear can stop us from doing things. The apostles were afraid when they saw the savior and still felt the need to test Jesus to prove that it was truly him.  However, Peter said "if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water", and as the savior always does, proves that he truly is the son of god and bids peter to come unto him. 

We can totally apply this in this life, whether we are firm in the gospel or are lacking in faith completely. Some might see the gospel, or even this church, and not understand everything, thus leading to doubts and fears.  However, our savior is ready and willing to show that through faith in him and in his gospel light, all we have to do is get out of the boat and put forth the smallest amount of faith and big things will happen. Okay let us continue. Peter is an Apostle of Christ, but his faith is put to the test as he stepped out of the boat and was able to walk on water. However, as we as humans often do, he became distracted and question our footing.  As the wind blew, he grew afraid and he started to sink. But one thing that I loved that Peter did while he began to sink, he "cried" unto the lord saying save me. He didn't try and save himself, he didn't think "oh maybe I can get out of this trial by myself", he asked for help and received the help that he needed immediately. I don't think I need to elaborate much on this topic, it is pretty self explanatory. Christ is waiting, ready to reach down and pull us out of the turbulent waters when we feel like we are "sinking" in our lives.  But, what we need to do is Cry for his help and he will be there. Christ also teaches us a great lesson when he said "oh thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?" Everyday we have challenges and trials where our faith is tested, just like Peter's was. Even when our faith is lacking, he teaches us that he is waiting, ready to help us. He also teaches us that we have no need to doubt. When the storms grow in our lives and the trials seem impossible to overcome, remember these words "oh thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?" God has prepared a way for us to overcome every trial that has, or ever will come into our lives. Let us all try and trust in our Savior a little more this week. Let us not doubt , and I know if we do this we will be able to achieve great things with the help of our savior. 

I know that this church is the true church on this earth. I Testify without a single doubt in my heart. The church that the savior established during his time on the earth has been RESTORED! let us remember this and cheerfully do all things that lie in our power to be better today than we were yesterday! I know that we all are  children of a loving heavenly father who loves us with perfect love!  I love you guys and am thankful for the role that each of you

play in my life! Now, lets get that bread this week!

Elder Poulsen  P.S. For those interested, here are a couple more scriptures that I wanted to share: Book of Mormon 1 Nephi 1:7 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them. Doctrine and Covenants 123:1717 Therefore, dearly beloved brethren, let us cheerfully do all things that lie in our power; and then may we stand still, with the utmost assurance, to see the salvation of God, and for his arm to be revealed. Book of Mormon Ether 12:6And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page