top of page
poulsenkazoku

Happiness in Hardship

Hey guys!! Not much happened this week la verdad. We worked super super hard, contacting each day but it seemed like nobody wanted to talk to us, which was super frustrating. All I can do is work a little harder this next week and have more faith.


It is still super hot and still teaching some awesome investigators! One crazy thing that I have learned about Mexico is that people put salsa on and in everything, even their drinks haha.


I want to share an experience that happened to me this week. So I was studying in Mosiah chapter 24 of the Book of Mormon. In this chapter, it talks about Alma and the people of the church and how they were being burdened by the Lamanites. And the People of the church prayed fervently, raising their voices to the lord that they may be delivered. After they had done this, the voice of the lord came to them, and they were comforted, here are the scriptures. 


12 And Alma and his people did not raise their voices to the Lord their God, but did pour out their hearts to him; and he did know the thoughts of their hearts.


13 And it came to pass that the voice of the Lord came to them in their afflictions, saying: Lift up your heads and be of good comfort, for I know of the covenant which ye have made unto me; and I will covenant with my people and deliver them out of bondage.


14 And I will also ease the burdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as witnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their afflictions.


15 And now it came to pass that the burdens which were laid upon Alma and his brethren were made light; yea, the Lord did strengthen them that they could bear up their burdens with ease, and they did submit cheerfully and with patience to all the will of the Lord.


I love verse 15 when it talks about the burdens and how they were made light, that they could bear their burdens (which were once so very hard) with ease. Also, after studying a chapter in english, I love studying the same chapter in spanish because it is worded a little differently. In spanish, for verse 15, It talks about how we will be able to withstand our burdens with happiness. If you know me, you know I love being happy, and I am pretty sure every person on this planet enjoys being happy as well. So what we can learn from these verses is that we can receive help during our hardest trials in this life. Not only that, we can feel happiness during our trials and times of need.


I am so grateful for my Savior, who died for me, that I might become better and return to live with my father in heaven again, while being truly happy while in this life! I know that that is a gospel of Joy and happiness. If you feel sad right now or feel like you are lacking joy in your life, look for Christ and you will find that joy, peace and comfort that only he can give. This life is a life of faith, have faith in your father in heaven and his perfect plan of happiness for you. Know that he loves you and wants to help you in every possible way. Ask your father in heaven, in the name of Jesus Christ, for help when you need it and I promise that you will receive the help that you need!


I love you all and hope all is good! 

Elder Poulsen 




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page