top of page
poulsenkazoku

Starting to feel like Christmas

Hey Guys!!

I have to start by saying that this past Tuesday we had a zone conference, but it was like a Christmas conference! It was so much fun! To tell the truth, Tuesday was practically my Christmas! We played games, ate a lot of food, listened to Christmas music and just hung out with all of my buddies in the Mish! It was honestly one of the coolest days of my mission! At the end of it all, we received packages from our families! I seriously have such an amazing family! They know me so well! But yeah, my first Christmas conference was one for the books!

Wednesday and Thursday we had divisions! And because I’m district leader I am always going to other areas which is a little tiring but its also super cool! I try to help the elders in my district find new investigators while also helping the investigators they are teaching and helping, progress little by little! Wednesday, Elder Nuñez and I had the opportunity to contact with the patriarch of the stake! This guy is a champ! He is 86 years old and was walking the streets (mainly hills) with us! He was bold, like super super bold! Sometimes he just walked into people's homes and was like, “these men have a message for you and this message will bless your life, so please listen to them.” It was actually super cool. At the end of the day we found about 6 new people for the missionaries in 5 de Mayo. The funny thing about those six is that three of them are named María Luisa, haha! Thursday I went with elder Nuñez again because he had some important appointments and said he needed my help with them! After finishing all of the appointments, we went and visited some members in his area! One lady that we visited was FaceTiming her daughter who lives in Cottonwood Heights, Utah. Super crazy because that’s the homeland of THE JP! So I was able to talk to the daughter of this member for a little which was super cool!

One thing about Mexico is the fruit!!  It is super popular in this area and it you can find it everywhere! Right now is the season of oranges, and there definitely is a plethora of oranges! Every member that we visit usually gives us oranges haha! This week I think I ate about 10 oranges!

Friday was pretty sweet! Started off by going down town and paying for our water bill, literally couldn’t start my day any better:). We had some of the best pasta I have ever had for lunch (also got the recipe even though I have no clue how to cook). So here, people play soccer on basketball courts, so when we passed by one of the bigger courts in our area we were invited to play! So, we played for about an hour and invited them all to church! Afterwards, we had an awesome lesson with the family of Santa Gonzales! Hermana santa has been baptized but 2 of her kids haven’t and are currently scheduled to get baptized next week!

The weather is honestly so wack here! But right now it feels like summer! It is about 85 degrees each day, which, I know sounds amazing to everybody who is just freezing in the states, but freak it hot. But then again I would take being hot over being cold! But it’s weird to think that it is December but we still need to sleep with the A/C on blast.

Life is good here! We have had tons of success out here in Hidalgo. But seriously, Like my dawg Apolo said, everyday out here in the mission feels like a Tuesday haha, but all is good and I wouldn't choose to be anywhere else right now!  I am learning things about life, people, situations and my Savior that I would never have the opportunity to anywhere but on a mission.  Right now I am trying to enjoy the grind and find happiness and gratitude in every situation that I can.

Hey I love you all and freak, I am so grateful to be a missionary. I know that this church is true without a doubt in my heart. I know that our Savior understands us in every situation we might find ourselves in. Trust in his plan, trust in his time, because his ways are perfect! I am grateful for The Book of Mormon, another testament of Jesus Christ and for the Bible, which both testify of Him and his plan for us. I am also so grateful that we have a living prophet to help us find our way in this crazy world that we live in! Everyone have an amazing week!

Love, Elder Poulsen




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page